Written by: Elva S.  Orignally published at FOIceland.com

It hasn’t gone past anyone in the Formula Off-Road world that the 2nd round in the Icelandic Championship will be hosted on Akranes the 11. June 2016.  The hills were covered with large rocks but the board members of TKS have been combing through the hills with their fingers so there are no rocks that might damage the cars, staff members or spectators. People do expect this competition to be one of three biggest ones this year.

This area in the neighborhood of the old Akranes hills that were used for many years but for some reason fell under the radar 15 years ago. Heros like Gísli G., Ásgeir Jamil, Halli P raced on Akranes with great success. Fighting for the title while flying up the vertical hills at the roots of Akrafjall.

Now in 2016, 20 drivers will attempt to fill in the big shoes of the legends and put on a great show for every living soul who will be attending that race on the 11. June. The tracks will be difficult, they will be technical, they will be in the need of great power from the custom made mean machines we call Fomula Off-Road cars.

Will there be a battle between Snorri Þór Árnason [Kórdrengurinn] and Ólafur Bragi Jónsson [Refurinn] like we saw on Hella?
Will we see the great Katla Turbo fly up the hills with it’s 1640 HP engine?
Can Valdimar Jón Sveinsson [Crash Hard] restrain himself from crashing hard in the daring tracks of Akranes?

If you want to witness the insanity of the sport you will not let this competition slip through our fingers.



Guðbjörn GrímssonKatla Turbo
Snorri Þór ÁrnasonKórdrengurinn – The Choirboy
Guðmundur Ingi ArnarssonLjónið. Lion Racing Icelandic Formula Offroad Team
Guðni GrimssonKubbur
Þór Þormar PálssonTorfæru-Spiderman
Svanur Örn TómassonInsane Team
Haukur Viðar EinarssonTazinn Racing
Stefán Bjarnhéðinsson – Kaldi
Ragnar Michelsen – Zombie Racing
Alexander Már Steinarsson – All-in Offroad Team
Geir Evert GrimssonSleggjan racing
Ólafur Bragi JónssonRefurinn Racing
Gestur J IngólfssonDraumurinn Formula Offroad Team
Atli JamilThunderbolt
Valdimar Jón SveinssonCRASH HARD #99 Valdimar Sveinsson
Ingólfur GuðvarðarsonGuttinn Reborn

Street Legal

Kata G. Magnúsdóttir – Team HULK
Skúli Kristjánsson – Pjakkurinn
Haukur Birgisson – Þeytingur Racing
Ívar GuðmundssonTeam Kölski